Charles Bordet

Recent Posts

Brave: The browser that respects your privacy

7 minute read

After discovering that Google gives away its users’ data about 347 times a day, I decided to step away from Google ecosystem one step a time. Today: An alternative to Google Chrome that respects your privacy.

Guide to Gradient Descent in 3 Steps and 12 Drawings

8 minute read

Everyone knows about gradient descent. But… Do you really know how it works? Have you already implemented the algorithm by yourself? If you need a reminder, this article explains in simple terms why we need it, how it works, and even show you a Python implementation!

How to Extract and Clean Data From PDF Files in R

10 minute read

R is a powerful tool for text mining. But you still need to get the data first, and it can easily become a pain when you deal with PDF files. This article shows you how to extract what you need and get the data ready for analysis!

SaaS startup: How to predict LTV for new users?

8 minute read

If you have a SaaS product, you already know the question: What is the value of my users? How to predict their churn rates? In this article, I explain how a statistician can help you answer these questions for you.

Charles Bordet

Posts récents

Brave: Le navigateur qui respecte votre vie privée

7 minutes de lecture

Après avoir découvert que Google distribue les données privées de ses utilisateurs 347 fois par jour, j’ai décidé de quitter l’écosystème Google, lentement mais sûrement. Aujourd’hui : Une alternative à Google Chrome qui respecte votre vie privée.

Comprendre la descente de gradient en 3 étapes et 12 dessins

9 minutes de lecture

Tout le monde a déjà entendu parler de l’algorithme de descente de gradient, mais… savez-vous vraiment comment ça marche et l’avez-vous déjà implémenté par vous-même pour être sûr d’avoir bien compris comment ça marche ? Cet article explique en images pourquoi on l’utilise, comment ça marche, et vous montre même une implémentation en Python !

Startup SaaS : Comment prédire la LTV d’un nouvel utilisateur ?

10 minutes de lecture

Si vous avez un produit SaaS, vous vous êtes forcément déjà posé la question : Comment connaître la valeur d’un nouvel utilisateur ? Comment prédire son churn rate ? Dans cet article, j’explique comment un statisticien peut répondre à ces questions pour vous.